top of page
Recent Beer Festivals

Fancy dress (Upper-class) vs. Real ales (Working-class) ?? Ascot Racecourse Beer Festival!!

Ascot is very famous for horse racing in the world. Ascot beer festival was taken place in the studium, Ascot Racecourse. My first impression on Ascot must be posh, fancy and the world of Audrey as everybody knows 'Royal Ascot' in June.

That is very interesting to have beer festival at 'posh' venue. Real ales are linked to working class and male drinks while Ascot is considered as 'Queen', upper-class and posh dresses. This 'mismatch' of culture represents the complicated English society and history, in addition, to have an international drinker like 'Maiko' is adding more confusion and representing the harmony and flexibility of England!!

I could see horse racing with nice beers, and also enjoyed people's fancy costumes!! It was a nice surprise seeing one of my dissertation contributors, Mark-who was a manager at beer bars, Reading. As you know, Reading was the first one for me as a volunteer and he looked after me well. Thanks to him, I could work at other beer festivals!! I could say thank you to him, and it was a really nice reunion!!


bottom of page