top of page
Recent Beer Festivals

The Derby Beer Festival with 290 different ales- Meeting 'Sara Barton'!!

Derby is one of the fantastic cities you can try nice pubs. I saw lots of lovely pubs in the city. According to a festival organiser, Russ, Derby Summer Beer Festival is one of the festivals in the Premier League of CAMRA's beer festivals! Derby is the successful city of promoting real ales and its pubs.

They had over 290 different ales across the UK. I was not familiar with ales from Derbyshire, so it was a fabulous opportunity to sample nice local beers!! I was proud of my self as I had been working at beer bars for two days, and tried all 290 beers from edge to edge!! Volunteers and festival attendees in Derby were also fantastic. I felt although this festival is quite big compared to other local festivals, people involved in this festival were local and 'Derby-style welcome'!! As a volunteer, this festival was more comfortable.

Also it was a nice surprise-I came across 'Sara Barton' who is the first female brewer, awarded 'the best brewer of the Year 2013' by the British Guild of Beer Writers. I was very happy to see and talk to her. She was really nice, and I took a picture with her!! Without a doubt, she is one of the most famous lady in my beer life!!


bottom of page