top of page
Recent Beer Festivals

The Great Welsh Beer Festival- sampling a wide range of the Welsh beers with cutie Welsh accents!!

My first fieldwork completed with attending at the Great Welsh Beer Festival in Millennium Stadium, Cardiff from 5th to 6th. After leaving Sheffield, I arrived at the Cardiff Central Station. I found two languages in the station-both English and Welsh! Yes, it is my first visit in Wales.

I attended at a trader's session, and worked as a volunteer in the evening on 5th. Most of people in the festivals including volunteers, staff and visitors were very friendly with their cutie Welsh accents. Although I got familiar with the South Yorkshire accents, I became a big fan of the Welsh ones.

As I was not familiar with the Welsh brewing companies and their ales, it was a fantastic opportunity to enjoy a new types of ales! Festival organiser, Duncan's word 'customer's choice' captures this. Although people have different favourite tastes, they have rights to choose from lots of choices. Without choices, they neither find their favourites nor know different types of beers. In this festival, we could find from global lagers to local welch beers-that's the paradise of choices!!!

I had an opportunity to speak to festival attendees. I found that although this festival promoted the Welsh ales with the Welsh pride, some people were not orginally from Wales and Duncan was not a Welsh neither. The words from my interviewee was very insiring me that Cardiff was the historically attractive city from England, Scotland and Wales due to the location. Although people in North Wales were more conservative, people in Cardiff were more open-minded and a mixture of people!

That is true-look at me!! I am not British, but love ales more than young British drinkers!! My research originates from my passion of ales. Everybody seemed very curious to me in the festival, but they were more welcome. I could say this field work completed with a great success!!


bottom of page