top of page
Recent Beer Festivals

Catching up with Bethany in Liverpool-faced the tragedy of local brewery.

After leaving Marple, I headed down to Liverpool to meet my friend Bethany. Thanks to her, I could explore the city of Liverpool. I had been there before, but it was 10 years ago when studying in Sheffield!! Of course, everything changed a lot.

Not only Liverpool, but also Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester which were the famous as the historically industrial cities in the UK, were transformed and becoming cultural cities. As I remembered, apart from Liverpool, they were not touristic destinations compared to main cities in the Yorkshire such as York. However, they are focusing on culture and events to revitalise the cities.

After a quick walk with Bethany and a lunch in the town, she left for her job and I spent one hour in the pub near the station. The pub I visited, used to be managed by the local brewery 'Cains', but unfortunately the brewery was closed down last year!! Liverpoolians lost the fantastic opportunity since last year. It was a shocking tragedy!! Although they had several types of guests ales, they were from a big brewery in Burton-upon-Trent. That's a big shame!!


bottom of page