top of page
Recent Beer Festivals

Meeting up with Holly in Marple-a community pub part 1!

Prior to my field work in Sheffield, I visited my friend, Holly in Marple. She has been my friend since I lived in Sheffield. Marple is located in the Peak District National Park bteween Manchester and Sheffield.

I was invited at her place, and we had a nice catch up since the Christmas. I had a lovely dinner with Holly, her boyfriend Stefan, her brother and his girlfriend. It was a nice surprise Stefan was a big fan of real ales and visited lots of breweries. I got a new beer friend!! He also suggested me a rail ale trail from Manchester to Leeds. I am sure to try it after September. Stefan was very interested in my research.

After a dinner, Holly and me visited a traditional community pub in Marple she used to work and her family often visits. The pub with a traditional fireplace and cosy atmosphere, was very nice and it reminded me my pub problem in Bournemouth. I like Bournemouth, but am not satisfied with the quality and numbers of pubs.I really need this types of community pubs in Bournemouth!!


bottom of page